Sensor Walk (Bryce Wiseman)

For my sensor walk I tried to observe sensors in my residence hall, Dana.  There are scanners that read student’s IDs to determine whether or not to unlock the door based on what time of day it is. There are many smoke detectors. There are also a decent amount of fire alarms which operates on a lever system so when it’s up it is inactive, while pushed down it activates the alarm.  There are buttons all over the place, whether it’s remotes, microwaves, laptops, vending machines, they are all over.  My keyboard (piano) also kind of operates like a bunch of buttons with each one producing a different pitched note.  I’ve learned through this walk that there are a lot more things that are in my everyday life that requires a sensor to work than I thought there were.

Leave a Reply

