Weekly Journal – Shift Registers and Multiplexers (Patrick Groh)

This week we worked with shift registers and multiplexers in the lab hours. I found these pretty complicated at the start, but after lots of trial and error it started working for me. I found the wiring to be the hardest after learning the code a little, as a mess of wires with small pins can start to get very confusing for me. The wire diagrams that we followed for class made it much easier for me, but I am nervous about not having one of those in the future when I end up using them for a different project. I definitely was much happier with shift registers, because the way they use the binary to create the output makes sense to me.

Screenshot_2017-02-20-12-01-38.png

this is the circuit that was made with the shift register

Screenshot_2017-02-20-12-00-48.png

This is the circut I made with the multiplexer

Leave a comment